top of page
Search
  • vbrindhas

Kulfi


Who can forget that Fluffy nutty cloudy icy desert How I drool at the thought of kulfi …

In the lanes of Triplicane Where I grew up as a child After a rejuvenated day of games of Hopscotch (pandi), hide n seek (kannamoochi) Snakes n ladders (parama padam), ludo (dhaya kattai) Marbles (goli), spinning top (pambaram) And more ..

From dawn to dusk Until mothers lovingly remember us scream at us to get back home finish our dinner just in time for oliyum oliyum (or chitrahaar)

After the noisy streets have quietened the moon is in full bloom sequin-silver stars covering up the sky as though silently winking at me

the chiming of the brass bell, ding-a-ling-ling from a distance, I hear

rummaging my mother’s wallet for that five rupees coin calling out my beloved friends dashing to the streets almost at the same time

as the ice-cream vendor halts at my doorstep with large earthen pots filled with kulfis

there was no mango, vanilla or chocolate there was no choice, but one kulfi flavor our joy knew no bounds for choice causes chaos in the mind

I have waited this far But the daunting part is now When I knew I am the last in the queue When I knew my brother would have it before me When I saw my dearest buddies starting to lick the kulfi My heart would melt

Finally, the ice-cream vendor Would dearly call out my name I was brimming with enthusiasm and excitement For it was my turn

Simple pleasures, are such treasures Me and my kulfi How I miss you… #NaPoWriMo 18 #scribblesthatspeak

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mini and me

Aishwarya was on intermittent fasting (IF). She was trying to lose weight, not that she was overweight. But IF had become a fad and she too wanted to try. She had been resisting this one sweet, but it

Woman of substance

She has come here to change the world not by chance that her stories are untold She is born here for a cause not for any applause She grows up gifted not to be disrespected She blossoms like a flower

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page